AIA Announces 2012 Housing Awards Winners

The 12th annual Housing Awards recognizes 10 winners in four categories

Washington The American Institute of Architects selected the 10 recipients of the 2012 Housing Awards. The AIA’s Housing Awards Program, now in its 12th year, was established to recognize the best in housing design and promote the importance of good housing as a necessity of life, a sanctuary for the human spirit and a valuable national resource.

The jury for the 2012 Housing Awards includes: Sandra A. LaFontaine, AIA, (jury chair) LaFontaine Architecture and Design, Worthington, Ohio; Allison Arieff, New York Times, San Francisco; Sara E. Caples, AIA, Caples Jefferson Architects, New York City; Jerome King, FAIA, The Office of Jerome King; San Jose, Calif. and Bill Moore, AIA, Sprocket Design Build, Inc., Denver.

The jury recognized projects in four award categories: One/Two Family Custom Housing, One/Two Family Production Housing, Multifamily Housing and Special Housing.

One/Two Family Custom Housing

Carmel Residence, Carmel-by-the-Sea, California
Dirk Denison Architects

Hampden Lane House, Bethesda, Md.
Robert M. Gurney, FAIA

Nakahouse, Los Angeles
XTEN Architecture

The Pierre, San Juan Islands, Wash.
Olson Kundig Architects

Relic Rock, Scottsdale, Ariz.
DCHGlobal Inc.

One/Two Family Production Housing

The One and Two Family Custom Residences award recognizes outstanding designs for custom and remodeled homes for specific client(s).

Live Work Home, Syracuse, New York
Cook + Fox Architects

Multifamily Living

The Multifamily Housing award recognizes outstanding apartment and condominium design. Both high- and low-density projects for public and private clients were considered. In addition to architectural design features, the jury assessed the integration of the building(s) into their context, including open and recreational space, transportation options and features that contribute to livable communities.

Drs. Julian and Raye Richardson Apartments, San Francisco
David Baker + Partners, Architects

Optima Camelview Village, Scottsdale, Ariz.
David Hovey & Associates Architect

Special Housing

The Special Housing award recognizes outstanding design of housing that meets the unique needs of other specialized housing types such as single room occupancy residences, independent living for the disabled, residential rehabilitation programs, domestic violence shelters, and other special housing.

Jesuit Community Center, Fairfield, Conn.
Gray Organschi Architecture

McMurtry & Duncan Colleges, Houston
Hanbury Evans Wright Vlattas + Company with Hopkins Architects

Voice your opinion!

This site requires you to login or register to post a comment.

View 40-plus Contractor of the Year National Winners
This is default text for notification bar